The advantage of doodling (Part 2)

Doodle2

This is my second post for this blog series on doodling. Please click here to read my first post.

This is my first attempt at doodling and the above is what I have came up with. Amateurish, I know. Still, I have managed to express what I have wanted to express through the image.

Much as I would like to say that doodling is pretty much an impromptu and casual act, I have to admit to myself that in the middle of my doodling, logic and reality sets in – along with a dose of fantasy. I am not sure if this is just me, or if all doodlers experience such an awakening. Maybe that’s why there are some who state that art is a form of expression of the unconscious and draws from within oneself, what one really feels and sees.

Maybe it’s the row of wedding bells from friends ringing in my life in recent years or an aspiration to some futuristic world filled with romanticism that the colours of my doodle turn light more out of choice than sheer coincidences. I also have a fascination with duality and feels that life is made complete in pairs (which probably also explains my complex fascination with other natural beauties, such as the spiral structures of seashells  and the serendipitous moments of candid photo-taking processes and moments).

I probably bring in auspiciousness into my doodle as well, introducing turtles (which stands for longevity in Chinese cultures) and cranes (which stands for honour, loyalty and peace for cranes in Japanese culture).  I have always held an interesting fascination with the metaphoric representations of artistic subjects and the semiotic expressions of entities.

Come to think of it, while the colours is inclined towards the feminine, the drawing per se is definitely skewed towards the masculine, based on the large capacity of the boat and a widely-spaced stairway, which leads up to its destination.

Before I digress too much, let’s get back to the drawing. The intertwining neck lock between the love birds and the closing of distance between the turtles indicates a convergence of relationships, while the two hearts symbolise romance.  The large back seats indicates family committments.

On the while, the pictures do reflect one’s mood, I guess. But even if it doesn’t, at least it indicates optimism. And that’s a a pretty good thing, wouldn’t you say?

All right,  I broke a rule. There’s a word on the picture, and I said previously I don’t add words. But hey, that’s the son of Venus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

